Acharya Prafulla Chandra College (APC College)

Acharya Prafulla Chandra College

Govt. Sponsored | NAAC Accredited A Grade College with CGPA 3.23

Affiliated to West Bengal State University

Acharya Prafulla Chandra College (APC College)

About the Department

Department of Computer Science, Acharya Prafulla Chandra College, New Barrackpore pioneered in Computer Science Education at B.Sc. Honours level in Eastern India since 1995 under Calcutta University. At that time, engineering and technological aspects of the subject was taught at the premier institutes like IITs, ISI, NITs, CU, JU, BE College and likes and scope of the subject was limited to a brilliant few. Introduction of Computer Science at B.Sc. (Hon) level opened the scope of the subject to a larger audience. A number of our students pursued their higher studies at the institutes of international repute like Indian Statistical Institute (ISI), Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI), Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Calcutta University, West Bengal State University (Barasat), Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University (Belur), BITS Pilani, Max Plank University and likes. Some of them became distinguished faculties in the learning centres like Jadavpur University and Calcutta University. Many of them also elevated to the topmost positions of organizations like Cognizant Technology Solutions, Tata Consultancy Services, Wipro Technology and IBM. The department is offering post graduate education in Computer Science (M.Sc in Computer Sc) under West Bengal State University (Barasat) since 2009. A number of our under-graduate students are selected as junior software developer at organizations like CTS, TCS (TCS-IGNITE). A number of our post-graduate students qualified in GATE and NET and they are perusing their M Tech and Ph.D.